Princess’ Review: Macbeth

I was never a fan of Shakespearean plays. I remember when I was in high school, though it was not a required reading, I read A Midsummer’s Night Dream and I find it nightmarish for my limited vocabulary and comprehension of flowery metaphors. Urgh.

 

I was really looking forward to watch The Revenant but since it’s not showing yet and the Metro Manila Film Festival entries still occupy most of the cinemas, I opted to watch Macbeth as it stars Michael Fassbender (who will always be young and hot Magneto for me) and Marion Cotillard (whom I still feel uncomfortable pronouncing her last name).

I’m going to be breaking down my review because it is easier for me to write. These are all based on my understanding of the movie and what little knowledge I have of movie making.

Synopsis: Macbeth was prophesied by three witches accompanied by a creepy young witch to become the next King of Scotland. This set his course by first assassinating the king, scaring the sh*t out of the Prince (I guess) and eventually having his head adorned by the crown who looked like a bunch of soaps stitched together. He became a tyrant, having his allies and enemies alike assassinated in fear of being dethroned. He succeeded of course, while his manipulative wife stood in the background playing the perfect hostess. But of course, everything comes to an end and good always wins against the evil at the end.

Cinematography: I’m a very visual person and this is the first thing I noticed on the film. Wow! Adam Arkapaw, the cinematographer, really did a great job. The landscapes, contrasting colors that weirdly complemented each other, the mist, tableau with each scene (I’m not sure if that is still his job) but yes, it’s the best.

Execution: It’s nice that Jason Kurzel, the director, used the Shakespeare dialogues as close as it is to the play but I really love the subtitles! It helped me somehow comprehend half of what the characters are talking about.

Acting: I was really rooting for Leonardo to win an Oscar this year which is long overdue for him but Michael Fassbender is a very strong opponent. I can’t imagine how hard it is to internalize while remembering and pronouncing their dialogue. But apart from that, he’s really good in making me like him at the start of the film and then hating him in the middle and feel sorry for him at the end. Marion Cotillard on the other hand, who reminded me of Mila Kunis in some of her scenes, is perfect for the role but I thought that any other actresses like Nicole Kidman or Natalie Portman would be great for the role as well.

Over all impression: It’s worth the money and time I spent on the movie but I don’t see myself watching it again. I’ll give it four tiaras out of five. đŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

