Princess’ Movie Review: Joy

I finally got to watch Joy here in the Philippines despite of being in the grave yard shift. Yey! Jennifer Lawrence is my goddess, she’s like my best girl friend… Of course, I first knew her through Hunger Games then I learned to love her more in Silver Linings Playbook, American Hustle, Winter’s Bone and of course X-Men.

Synopsis:

Joy (J.Law), a divorced mother of two, inventor and a very determined woman, was caught in the middle of domestic issues involving her parents, half-sister and ex-husband, and financial problems. She decided to make a 180 degree turn from her mundane life and risked to achieve stability in all aspects of her life by pursuing her childhood dream of becoming a successful inventor with the support of her grandmother and best friend.

Likes:

  • Acting – as always Jennifer Lawrence delivered a superb “no-acting” acting. There’s not much improvement from her acting compared to her previous movies but she sure is doing great. Reminds me of a young Meryl Streep – whew!
  • Execution and Editing – it’s fast paced, was understandable and clean.

Dislikes:

  • I have been waiting for intense moments but I was disappointed.
  • I would like to see DeNiro, Cooper and Lawrence in one scene but then again, I was disappointed. Their chemistry together might have been great.

Over all Impression:

I am not really expecting that this film would win any Academy awards considering the other contenders but it wouldn’t be shocking if J.Law would win another Best Actress for this film (though I’m leaning towards Brie Larson’s performance in Room).  The film is kind of forgettable and lacks any “goose-bump” scenes. I don’t like it that much.

Two tiaras out of five.

Leave a Reply

