Princess’ Movie Review: Gods of Egypt

Gods of Egypt never appealed to me, from its trailers to its marketing, and the controversy it had didn’t help either but an overly enthusiastic friend wanted to see this movie, though he cancelled at the last minute, and I ended up watching this alone.

Synopsis:

Horus (Nikolaj Coster-Waldau), was about to be crowned as the King of all Egypt until his jealous uncle Set (Gerard Butler) killed his father and gouged his eyes out and took over Egypt. Bek (Brenton Thwaites), a thief helped Horus in exacting his revenge and in return Horus will bring his dead lover back to the living.

Likes:

  • Costume – the costumes were aesthetically appetizing, a bit lavish and not that Egypt-ish but I liked it.
  • Set Design – it was okay and prolly the only thing I liked aside from the costumes.

Dislikes:

  • Plot – full of cliché.
  • Script – cheesy.
  • Effects –  it’s so fake and very disappointing. The Good Dinosaur’s animation is even more realistic (e.g. water, trees, etc. definitely not the dinosaurs :p)
  • Accents – inconsistent and as fake as the effects.
  • Execution – I kept thinking how similar it was to John Carter and Conan the Barbarian.

Over all Impression:

I only stayed during the entirety of the movie to get my money’s worth and I still didn’t get it. I’m sorry but I was disappointed. I should’ve watched and spent two hours of my time on Kung Fu Panda 3 instead of wasting my money and time on this film. Gerard Butler could do better than this. 😦 Now I know why it flopped in the box office.

One tiara out of five.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

