Princess’ Movie Review: Batman v Superman

I only got the chance to watch the film earlier because; 1st, I don’t get invited to movie premiers; 2nd, I don’t want to queue on the first day showing or the first weekend; and 3rd, it’s been a hell week last week for me. There is sooo much hype about this movie and I stayed away from social media to avoid any spoilers and to not read any review about the movie though I’ve found out that most critics are not happy about the film. So, here’s my take on it.

Synopsis:

Superman (Henry Cavill) was caught in the middle of humanity’s politics and helplessness and finds himself in a moral dilemma that would determine his fate and the fate of humanity. Bruce Wayne/Batman (Ben Affleck) has his own strong opinion against Superman that motivates him to do anything to exact his revenge and bring justice to what he thought were the victims of Superman’s awesomeness. Lex Luthor (Jesse Eisenberg) manipulated the events that lead to the epic battle between Batman and Superman and more.

Likes:

Gal Gadot – as Wonderwoman, she fits the role perfectly despite of several negative reactions when it was announced that she’ll play the iconic super heroine. She’s great in the movie though I would like to have her more screen time but it was just right since she’s not really the main character (yet).

Dislikes:

Plot – it’s a little bit confusing. The movie, like Nolan’s Batman series, has a dark theme but the plot is shallow. There is not much motivation as to why Bruce Wayne hates Superman so much and why Lex Luthor did the things he did. I haven’t read the comic books and this could’ve been shown in the film because not all movie goers are comic book fans.

Jesse Eisenberg – I like how he interprets his character but it’s a little bit Joker-ish for me.

Lois Lane – Amy Adam’s acting is not lacking but Lois Lane was too “damsel in distress” in this film. I missed her strong and feistiness in Man of Steel.

Execution – it would have been great to have a lot of long and continuous shot of the action scenes instead of the shaky, up close fight scenes but I guess Ben Affleck needed that considering that it’s hard for him to move because of his bulky costume.

Costume – too dark. too awkward. I felt uncomfortable for Batman.

Over All Impression:

I would like to love this film and I strip myself of any prejudice and expectations before stepping into the movie house. I took it as it is and unfortunately I was disappointed with the film. The build up was kinda boring and shallow and it was a little bit dragging. Batman v Superman tried so hard (and failed) to be an artsy film. It’s a superhero movie and moviegoers wanted to feel awed and great after watching it, not depressed and gloomy. Perhaps Guardians of the Galaxy and Deadpool did set a new trend for what should superhero movies would look like. I am not biased but as a movie goer, superhero movies should be an escape from the Oscar-y movies. It should be a break from heart-wrenching, tear-jerker, dark films. It should be fun. It should be awesome and visually appetizing.

Two tiaras out of five. 😦

Leave a Reply

