Movie Reactions

It’s been a while since my last movie review and I don’t want to go over each movie I saw since then except for the below. :p

Miss Saigon: 25TH Anniversary Gala Performance

Image result for miss saigon 25th

I have been a fan of plays since elementary days (being a member of the school theater from elementary until college). I remember we did Miss Saigon on my 2nd year in college and it was really cool. Sun and Moon and Solo Saxophone are my favorite songs from this play.

The movie version (not adaptation) of Miss Saigon met all my expectations. The new casts were all great especially Jonjon Briones – he stole the show. I cried on some parts (parts where Hugh Maynard sang actually :p). Eva Noblezada as the new Kim may not be as great as The Lea Salonga but she gave justice to the role. And of course, Rachelle An Go, she had a pretty important role in the first act only but she sure knows how to utilize it effectively.

 

The Accountant

Image result for the accountant movie poster

The trailer of this movie was what made me excited to see this film plus Anna Kendrick and also the plot – a mentally challenge individual who grew up to become an assassin in the guise of a lowly accountant. Sounds exciting, right? Nah! Ben Affleck has always been a boring actor, in my opinion, but he’s nice to look at. :p I slept on some parts and it’s the first time I slept in a movie house. 😦

 

Trolls

Image result for trolls movie poster

Easily, one of my favorite movies this year. Not really a big fan of the toy but I like Anna Kendrick (same reason I watched The Accountant) and their OST is one of my fave songs ever – True Colors.

It was really entertaining. The plot is really simple enough for kids (and kids-at-heart) to enjoy. It was funny, colorful, cute, musical and a real feel good movie. I love it!

 

Doctor Strange

Image result for doctor strange movie poster

This movie may not be as good as Guardians of the Galaxy or The Avengers but it’s a good vehicle to introduce Doctor Strange in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Action scenes, visual effects, humor and Easter bunnies were all present just like any other MCU films but what I liked most is the tailor fit of the actors to the characters. I can’t imagine any other actor playing Doctor Strange but Benedict Cumberbatch, same thing with Tilda Swinton as the Ancient One.

 

I will be watching the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them today and being a huge Potterhead, this is th emovie that I’ve been waiting the whole year!!! Argh!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

